Istanbul, a place on its own.. - Reisverslag uit Istanbul, Turkije van Sam S - WaarBenJij.nu Istanbul, a place on its own.. - Reisverslag uit Istanbul, Turkije van Sam S - WaarBenJij.nu

Istanbul, a place on its own..

Door: Semmieejj

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sam

23 Februari 2014 | Turkije, Istanbul

Two weeks in Istanbul, Turkey.. I adjusted my status on FB where I am living now, coz I went from 6 Months Lanzarote, Spain to the Asian side of Istanbul, Turkey!
I am here to study for 4 months on the Yeditepe University which is on the Asian side of Istanbul,

The gyals and boys are superrr modern and almost 80% of them smoke and are wearing mini skirts (talking about the girls), sunglasses when its not even sunny and no scarfs to be found.. I didnt see that coming .. This school is full of rich Turkish ****, means the craziest cars are parked outside and also the school is worth paying I guess, seen the fact that there are schoolbusses driving around the school to get you from one building to the other. One tour with this bus takes around 15 minutes.. When looking outside the bus window I could see swimmingpools, basketball, football and tennis courts and the most beautiful nature.. That is right, NATURE coz there is a forest with only green to be seen in the back of the school ...

I chose for it to put all my lessons in three days, which are Monday Tuesday and Wednesday and the rest of the week I am simply off and dont need to do anything ..
It is my 3rd week now and I must be honest that its already getting bored! I am not used to be off for 4 days a week and the workload from school is done in 5 min. The lessons at school are in English however the students can barely speak it and ask questions in Turkish and get a respond from the teacher in Turkish as well.. Also does one teacher get her information from Wikipedia and reads everything she wants to explain from the slides.. But hey this is multiculti, atleast for me coz I try to remember some of the words. I noticed that the Turkish are welcoming people and specially when you greet them and say the words you know in their own language, they appreciate me even more..

I have been asked to take a photo with multiple unknown people now , atleast 3 times because I guess they have never seen brown people that can speak another language.. This is what I think because they cant really explain to me but I am being stared at alot and everyone can see wherever I go, that there is nothing turkish in me .. The place where I am getting asked for pictures the most is when I take the boat for 2 lira (60 eurocent) from Kadikoy to Eminonu, this is going from the Asian side where I live to the European side. I love the trips with this boat the most.. It takes around 20 minutes and birds are flying in the blue sky screaming for the bread that the people hold in their hands, the view from the one side of Istanbul to the other is amazing and around 6 pm when the sun goes down behind the huge mosques, you can see atleast 8 different colors in the sky, making it a peacefull sight.

The other place where people ask me where I am from, is in my neighbourhood.. Two dark girls (me and my roommie) doing grocery shopping, means that we have settled down in this village. I can say that compared to the Netherlands where everything is flat (yeaaa it is really flat there .. I know that now), that I live on a mountain ... I like the view from the window and to go down that hill is very easy, but boyyyy is it hard to walk that ***ish back up when you just bought milk, 10 ltr water and all the groceries needed for the rest of the week , coz when we have done it, atleast we dont have to carry something for the coming week ..

Asha my roommie has had her two besties over already and also our common friends Kevin and Rebeca came over to see our apartment and see Istanbul together. We have seen the spicemarket, asian side, europe side, mosque Aya Sophya, Taksim square, done some shopping in Kadikoy and got our transportation cards so now we can travel as official Erasmus students from Istanbul! :) All I can say is that I love to travel and get to know other people and cultures and I think everyone should do it when you have the opportunity for it, because travelling is the only thing you buy that actually makes you richer and in my case happier :)

  • 23 Februari 2014 - 19:20

    Sophie:

    Super leuk verhaaltje meid... Ben jaloers op je! Geniet maar lekker in Istanbul.. Hoop dat ik snel veel centjes verdien zodat ik je nog kan opzoeken! We missen je!

    Dikke kus van Sophie en Stephaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan hihi :)

  • 23 Februari 2014 - 19:32

    Sunita:

    Heel leuk en mooi allemaal liefie!! Heel veel plezier en geniet ervan! Wij komen zeker langs om al dat moois samen met jou te bewonderen xxxxxxxxx hvj Momsen

  • 23 Februari 2014 - 20:45

    Romy:

    Hahahah, ik kan het niet lezen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Turkije, Istanbul

Sam

Welcome to my adventures during my travelling abroad time !

Actief sinds 09 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 217
Totaal aantal bezoekers 27133

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Februari 2014 - 04 Juni 2014

Erasmus Istanbul

14 Januari 2014 - 30 Januari 2014

Hii India & Egypt

01 Augustus 2013 - 15 Januari 2014

Internship @ Lanzarote

01 Augustus 2013 - 19 Januari 2013

Ik ben op Lanzarote !!

Landen bezocht: